Dan and Roseanne Conner’s Floor Plan – updated

lookalikeroseanne16496roseanneI guess from many of my posts you would think that I’m obsessed with Roseanne.  And yes, that may be a little bit true.  Roseanne is the one show that after several decades of being on television I can still sit down and watch no matter what time of day or season.

There’s one thing however that’s always bugged me about the show – the house’s floor plan.  Now I’m not an architect, engineer, draftsman or person of any real education concerning blue prints, etc but I’ve always been fascinated by floor plans.  When I was a kid my dad would draw house plans for people and I’d sit on the floor next to him and draw floor plans for the loft my Ken Doll and his boyfriend from North Korea that he met on the internet would move into when gay marriage was legalized…

Yeah as a kid I was totally gay.  GAY GAY GAY.  I was so gay that at about 2 years old at my cousin’s wedding I threw a fit because I wanted a wedding dress like she had so my dad had to put me in one of his big t-shirts so I’d shut up.  Someday if I can find pictures of it I’ll post them, I know I’ve seen them somewhere.

Anyway, when I was growing up I used to watch Roseanne all the time, it made me feel normal to see how abnormally they functioned I guess.  During my parents fights, which they had very frequently I would pretend that we were the Conners because they seemed a lot happier.

WOW tragic, huh!  Dear god that brick needs to go right back in the wall, f’real.

Still after like 20 years of watching the show the floor plan bugged me because I couldn’t figure it out.  Everything made sense to me except the master bedroom/master bath configuration that never seemed to fit right with me.  I’ve looked online several times for some kind of clue but I could never find a PDF or even a jpeg of the floor plan so it continued to haunt me.

Until three days ago.  I spotted it while watching the show, the missing link in the house.  The part I never understood was the doors actually, the doors they walk through to reach the bedroom or bathroom from the kitchen didn’t match the ones going from either room into the kitchen, they seemed switched.  Three days ago however I noticed A HALLWAY.  Yes that’s right.

WOOT.

I doubt many of you are as excited about this as I am but it ended a question that’s lingered in my head for a long time.  I’m a simple guy that takes simple pleasures and this is one that has seemed to make my life a little more complete for some reason.

I have this blogging censor that keeps me from writing stuff that I don’t think anyone will give a shit about like Dan and Roseanne Conner’s Floor Plan but this time I said to myself “no, just go ahead and hit that ‘publish’ button.  SOMEONE out there has to be wondering about the same thing so even if nobody else gets it, someone will.”

So here it is, the Conner Family’s Floor Plan.

Conner house 3-D render

Conner house 3-D render

MORE FROM THE FIRST FLOOR HERE!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

32 Responses to “Dan and Roseanne Conner’s Floor Plan – updated”

  1. Melissa Says:

    I’m sitting on my laptop right now watching the episode where Dan has the flu and Jackie is the Roxanne understudy and I noticed a hallway that I’d never seen before. I’ve been obsessed with the Conner’s floor plan for years and have tried to draw it several times, and when I saw that hallway I finally decided to go online and see if the plan was online. I can’t see your image though. :<

    Your dad sounds awesome by the way.

  2. donderhead Says:

    I swear it’s a conspiracy! I’ve tried doing the same search countless times and never found a solid floorplan, or when I would find one the link wouldn’t work. Now I look at this post and I can see the floorplan but several people have told me that it just doesn’t show up! I think Roseanne scrawls through blog posts about her and uses her special powers to censor them. I need to make a couple revisions to the floorplan (the secret hallway is the KEY to the master bedroom, but the bathroom has ANOTHER hallway that I just noticed as well which goes behind the cupboard in the kitchen to allow space for the bathtub. That was the final part that I was missing and you can see it clearly in the episode you just mentioned… maybe it will help you too!) I’ve tried drawing it several times as well but until recently I’ve been totally stumped by the master bedroom/bathroom configuration. ROSEANNE NERDS UNITE!

    And yeah my dad pretty much kicks ass!

  3. DB Says:

    I love this! I was looking for this, totally not a waste of time. I just assumed that there wasn’t really a floor plan and that it was just a series of square sets. Now what about the upstairs?!

    • dunderbrain! Says:

      I had a lot of problems with the upstairs because they never show beyond the doorway. I modeled darlene and becky’s room, then when I watched an episode with DJ’s room I figured out it was the exact same set, it just has the door to the hallway where the door the the bathroom in the girls’ room is and his closet is where their door to the hallway is.

      I watch way too much roseanne.

    • dunderbrain! Says:

      UPDATE (lol) I was watching the first episode from season 9 “Shower the ones you love with stuff” and at the end Becky and Darlene are upstairs in their old room, Roseanne settles the fight by making DJ repeat what she used to tell them as kids, then steps out into the hallway with Dan. It showed the entrance to the girl’s room as being across from the stairway, so considering DJ’s room was always as having the doorway on the right and the girls had their doorway on the left (everything else about their rooms structure being the same except DJ has a closet where the girls would have a bathroom) would lead me to think that their rooms were opposite each other. Hence, from the episode I saw, DJ’s room doesn’t exist. I’m sure with the show’s budget they just rearranged furniture in the same room to make it look different, so I think it may be the only part of the house that truly doesn’t make sense.

  4. Liz Says:

    I googled this because I am watching “bed and bored” and I am wondering if Dan and Rosanne’s bedroom is supposed to be a dining room. The entrance to their room appears to be curved without a door…thoughts to this?

    • dunderbrain! Says:

      I do believe the door is in the hallway leading to the kitchen and the bathroom, like here:

      I couldn’t figure out how to put an actual door there so I left it open. Considering the way the bathroom has entrances to the bedroom and the rest of the house would lead me to think that it wasn’t supposed to be a dining room, just a bedroom with a hallway entrance.

  5. Eville Says:

    The problem is the front door. It doesn’t fit the house layout. The door is on the right corner on the outside shots and on the inside shots the door is in the middle.

    I was at the actual house today (no one lives there) and the floor plan inside the house is not the same as on the show. It’s not even close.

    The stairs in the real house are straight ahead as you walk into the house and the living room is to the left.

    I took pics. If you want them then send me an email.

  6. kelly Says:

    i’ve been searching high and low to find other Roseanne ‘nerds’, and man do I finally feel at home!

    Eville, I’d love to see pics of the real house- how does one reach you?

    me> conformityisdeception at gmail dot com

  7. Justin Thyme Says:

    Hey fellow Roseanne-Heads, I’ve moved my blog to DUNDERBRAIN.com. I’m having Roseanne week right now and I’d love for you to come check it out!

    You can find the UPDATED floor plan, where they are now, and random Roseanne trivia all at the new DUNDERBRAIN.com!

  8. Brad McCart Says:

    I can’t believe there are serious Roseanne fans out there like me lol,its really funny to read your guys letters to each other about the details in the Q & A’s because they are the same topics i have thought about for years as i grew up watching the show as a young teenager.
    As much a fan as a i am,i will be building the “Conner’s” residence in the near future with a little twist for my own home to grow my family up in,i’ve always that would be cool to live in a complete carbon copy of their house.

  9. Kathy Guidry Says:

    I have been looking for this for years.Someone as interested in the layout for The Conner’s house.Like Brad I also want to build me my home to fit the floorplan.
    One thing though.When looking into the kitchen from the living room the sink is straight in front with the garage door to the left of the coffee pot.Then the pantry on the other side of the door with the little step up to go into the hall.Right???

  10. shannon Says:

    you only did the floor plan on the first floor. we are trying to figure out how the second story is done. supposidly the bathroom connects both dj and becky and darleens room yet by the way each room is set up its impossible. if any one can help please do cuz its driving us crazy. thanks shannon

  11. Lindsy Says:

    Eville,please send me your pics.:)

  12. Heather Says:

    Okay people I love love love Roseanne… and I’m guessing that the rest of you are just as obsessed with it as I am. Well- we need to REALIZE that this a TV show and the house was a SET!!! And although, I don’t understand how outside of the laundry room they could make it look like it was really raining and the trees were really blowing in the wind??? The back yard was fake grass, you can tell!! And on the very last episode when the camera zooms out, you can tell that it is a set. And I KNOW that is kills us to realize this, but it was just a show! Even though in my head I still think the Conners are out there somewhere!

    • Justin Thyme Says:

      Oh… My… God… Roseanne wasn’t a doccumentary? That wasn’t filmed in a real house?? What the eff man really? What about full house, those people are real right? And golden girls? They weren’t real either? Are you for serious?

      Anyway, off the sarcasm…

      Roseanne (the actress, not the character… I think…) recently said in her interview as she talked about a prospective show in the works that if the conner family was still around they would have lost the house after Dan died and DJ would have died in Iraq.

    • Justin Thyme Says:

      Btw there’s something called theatrics… They can make it look like it’s raining, snowing, blowing, whatever.

  13. Marlena Says:

    I am interested in seeing the pics of the actual house Eville u can contact me at browneyez52580@aol.com thank you so much!!!

  14. Tom Says:

    I always understood the first floor, but the second floor is impossible. Somehow the bathrooms are connected, and yet the window that’s in Darlene and Becky’s room is the small window looking out the center of the house during the interlude pictures of the house. Complicating it further, when they’re throwing clothes out of the window in that episode when they’re fighting over the room, the clothes are falling not over the middle of the house (since the porch has a roof and you wouldn’t be able to see the clothes falling), but rather the window in the living room. It doesn’t any sense whatsoever. Also, the stairway comes up in the middle of the house, but the layout infers that the stairway would have to come up into the middle of the rooms. I’d love to see a floorplan.

  15. Michael Says:

    Dude I saw the episode “Body by Jake,” and in that episode there is actually a door where the hall is to the master bathroom. Anyway…did you figure out the floorplans to the upper level?

  16. David Says:

    Hey I was in this house, or set. I was on an episode of roseanne

  17. Nicole Reed Says:

    Ok so in episode “Promises, Promises” the one where David and Darlene go to prom… In the beginning where Rosie and Darlene are sitting on the couch you can clearly see behind them into the hallway. There is the archway into the kitchen, a door to the left of the archway (leading to I have no clue?) A door at the end of the hallway (bath, bed, or closet?) And also the door we always see through the archway from the kitchen that we all assume is the bedroom door. Hope this helps… I have thought about this floor plan since I was a kiddo! I love this blog!!

  18. Andy Says:

    This floor plan is cool. It’s always been something that interested me too. The only problem I see with it, which is not a mistake on your part, but is the show designers fault, is the way the bedroom is facing on that floor plan. It is correct, and that puts an extra window on the front of the house. The only window on the front is the living room. This will probably bother me forever lol.

  19. misty Says:

    it’s 4:30am and i just googled “layout of house on roseanne”… i know every episode inside and out, LOVE Johnny Galecki… loved him since national lampoon christmas vacation. no one has noted on IMDB that the man with the last name rudolph, who played johnny galecki’s grandfather in the movie also played roseanne’s dad on a few episodes…. anyway, thank you for the lay out and i agree that the upstairs is impossible!

    • Justin Thyme Says:

      I love all the comments here! Have any of you skipped over to the other blog that shows different angles of the 3D Render? I’ve actually been working on the upstairs but it’s like the cure for cancer, every time I think I have it a new problem comes up and the whole solution is out the window. I’ve got 60 or so years to keep trying though, it’s my life’s work.

  20. audimbetpeami Says:

    Amazing, I did not know about this topic up to now. Thx!

  21. Roo Says:

    Ya… Some members of the family have walked down the hallway. I had the same curitousisty.. Then I really really paid attention one day and BAM I saw it.. A hallway.. It was amazing.

  22. mo Says:

    The door layout of the girls’ bedroom almost works (almost!) if the jack-and-jill bathroom is the bump-out at the front of the house, and the stairs/hall are a t-intersection at the back of the house–girls’ door to the left, DJ’s to the right, both facing the front of the house, and windows looking out over the side of the house. DJ’s room always confounds me, though, because we see so little of it.

    The first floor bathroom, though: look over the couch and down the hall, and there’s the door. Go in the bathroom, and it’s to the left, meaning the door must be around the corner out of view.

    It’s like Escher designed this place.

    • Justin Thyme Says:

      the problem with DJ’s room is it’s the same set as the girls’ room, so if you lined it up where the the respective bathroom doors made sense the windows don’t work with the exterior of the house. I’ve racked my brain trying to figure it out but nothing works. There was an episode where Darlene slams DJ’s head into the wall while Dan and Roseanne are standing outside the girls bedroom and opposite their door is a wall and next to that is a stairway. the only way it would work is if the two rooms were side by side but there’s no way to arrange it to where it coordinates with the exterior.

  23. mo Says:

    I figured that they were supposed to be mirrored rooms on opposite sides of a hall–in both, the closet is near the bathroom door, and a shelf is near the hall door–but yes, that does make the windows problematic.

    Always the windows! With the location of the picture window on the first floor, Dan and Roseanne should not have a bedroom.

  24. Dominique Says:

    Okay, number… this site just made my morning. I have been in love with Roseanne since forever. I know everything… in and out about it. Esp the floor plan. Now, since this site is where Roseanne geeks (like me) can meet, I have a question. I never had a problem about the bathroom/bedroom on the first floor. I’ve made the “Roseanne” house on Plan3D countless times and what I never understood is the second floor (like ya’ll stated already) but also, the sun deck behind the kitchen window. Did Dan build it? I vaguely remember them mentioning it. However, if he did why is the water heater located there and when they showed their neighbors house (with the same exact floorplan), why do they have a sun deck, too? Also, is the wall supposed to go behind the counter and stove? I know they only take it out sometimes because of cameras.. but sometimes on the opening there’s a wall, but during tapings.. it’s gone. it’s 5:02 am and I can’t wait to here ya’lls responce. I’m going to TRY and figure out the second floor layout again. lol

    • Jt DUNDERBRAIN! Says:

      I finally decided that there’s no way in the physical universe that the upstairs makes sense. For one, in the episode where DJ is peepin on the neighbor Darlene enters from stage right and in almost every other episode where his room is shown they enter from stage left. It’s like a different universe in there and I think they did it on purpose to enhance the weirdness of the character, as opposed to the girls room where the door is clearly on stage right and the bathroom door is stage left. Also, I’m pretty sure both rooms are the same set. I’ve tried to work it from every angle but there’s no way both rooms fit together.

      Also in the first 8 seasons there is a wall behind the stove because it’s shown in the intro. In the last season I think it’s implied that the wall was removed in the remodel because they move behind it. Thanks for reading the DUNDERBRAIN!, there’s a ton of crap on here so enjoy exploring!

Leave a comment